• Header

The President of ASSCT awards two medals at each conference - one for the best research paper and one for the best industry paper.

The best research paper is usually one that describes an exciting development that may or may not have given benefits to the industry at the time the award is presented, but is expected to provide benefits in the future.

The best industry paper describes work that has obvious industry benefits, and these benefits may already be apparent.

The President may choose to use different selection criteria for the awards and, sometimes, awards are given to researchers who have presented a series of papers over a number of years on an important topic.


2018 Presidents Medal

Best Research paper:

Rob Magarey, Kathy Braithwaite, Lastus Kuniata, Nicole Thompson, Kaile Korowi, Peter Samson, Leka Tom, Nader Sallam, Lisa Derby for their paper titled:  Biosecurity research in PNG: 2015–2017

Best Industry paper

Stephen Crouther, Danny Ferraris, Brendan Rich for their paper titled:  The use of simulation for design and implementation of a pan station control system

2018 Poster Awards

Best poster paper in the Agricultural section:

Matt Kealley, Mike Quirk, Burn Ashburner for their poster:  A nitrogen roadmap—better alignment of N inputs to crop requirements
Best poster paper in the Manufacturing section:
Tim Diringer, Bjarne Christian Nielsen for their poster:  Optimising the performance of continuous centrifugals by online monitoring of the sugar colour